a month of sundaes (and thanks!)

Wow, this is my 32nd post.  I’ve finished the first month, already 1/12th along the way!

I want to thank all of you who’ve read, any of this.  And especially to you who’ve gone through the time and effort to post your comments.  (Does WordPress require that you have or create an account, to leave a comment?)

My first full month of doing a blog a day this year has been successful.   At least in that I have actually done them, a substantive daily post, my determination at New Years (which seem so far away now, doesn’t it?)

Okay, I admit the poems might have been a bit throwaway.  But my original idea was to use this as impetus for doing steady creative writing.  Either posting – or writing directly in WordPress – naked, rough draft scenes of the ‘play noir’ that’s been rattling in my head for the past year, occasionally spilling out onto monitor pixels (was about to say “onto the page”, lol).  One day I dusted off and posted my best visualizing of its opening scene.

I am surprised at the time I will take on many posts.  And that I have posted so much political commentary.

The most successful writing I have done is about the first third of a novel, maybe 10 chapters, mailing and handing out the chapters as I completed them – this was mid-90’s – to a small but slowly growing circle of friends.  It was a broadhanded unserious science fiction story, a la Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, full of inside jokes, in which one of my friends is recruited to save the star-spanning Scarlet Hegemony, and in turn save Earth.  Meanwhile, in order that his valiant galactic work go unnoticed, I went about his life disguised as him back here on Earth.  And the other friends who were reading it as it went along got tracked down and threatened by the alien bad guys because they knew too much because they were reading the story…

It kinda blew up.   Basically, there was so many cross-plot and meta-plot twists and retro-fitted layers of possible deception that I realized I had created a fictional universe without rules, which for fantasy fiction is like playing tennis without a net but with twenty balls.

Now, I am trying to find lessons in why my most-read article so far is a quick little one about grocery shopping, whipped up and posted on a Friday evening.  If you can tell me why that one is, please do.

Thanks for reading!!!!  I’ll work on getting better!

Leave a Reply

