don’t feel like writing

Don’t feel like writing

Don’t feel like writing tonight
of course I’ve written today
Notes and numbers
talking on the phone
Complex explanatory emails
nine months’ work in three paragraphs

Of course, I’m writing now
again, here, tonight, it’s dark outside
Ticking plastic keys under my fingers
they know where to go by now
I can watch the screen
Maybe my fingers
are controlled by a lizard brain
somewhere deep behind my spine
that’s letting me
not write tonight after all

2 responses to “don’t feel like writing

  1. This is the best “I’m not writing tonight” poem I have read in some time…wonderful!

  2. I like the line about the lizard =P

Leave a Reply

