“Sing Someone to Sleep” – a lullaby

In my year long determination to create a post every day in 2010, this week has been my nadir.  Haven’t felt up to writing; maybe cooling things a bit will get me back into the swing this weekend.

To keep my yearlong pact with myself tonight, a song I wrote several years ago.

I wrote a few complete rap/talk-singing songs when I was creating and posting tunes online in the first half of the decade – but this feels to me distinctly different from them, more solid (believe it or not).  I’m not sure how to describe the music, maybe somewhat like a slow but rolling waltz.

It is, in fact, incomplete as a full song – but it does almost completely carry the sweep of its intended narrative.  I stood up and sang it once as my contribution at a presumptive artists’ party.

It is interesting that the literary expectations of a song is so much different than – less than – a poem.


Sing Someone to Sleep – a lullaby


Wish I could sing someone to sleep
Wish I could sing someone to sleep
If you were lying here with me
I would sing you, dear, to sleep

You could rest your weary soul
In the shelter of my arms
As our world rolls into night
I’ll keep your free from harm

Your heartbeat tells me stories
Your breath whispers your fears
Come day I’ll celebrate your laughter
But I’ll keep secret all your tears

Can I sing you now to sleep
Can I sing you now to sleep
Now that you’re lying here with me
Let me sing you, dear, to sleep

One response to ““Sing Someone to Sleep” – a lullaby

  1. The poem and photo compliment one another nicely…a good love poem/song…enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

