poem 4/9/10 – Winter Camping with Lawrence!

Today’s NaPoWriMo 2010 challenge – readwritepoem.org’s “prompt”:

Use at least twelve words from this list:
flap, winter, torch, pail, jug, strum, lever, massage, octopus, marionette, stow, pumice, rug, jam, limp, campfire, startle, wattle, bruise, chimney, tome, talon, fringe, walker
• Include something that tastes terrible
• Include some part (from a few words to several lines) of a previous poem that didn’t quite pan out, and
• Include a sound that makes you happy.

I looked at this and hated it.

So I decided to go to all Large Hadron on its ass – EVERY word, in order, line by line!

(BTW, I don’t actually suffer from the afflictions mentioned, I just had to think of how to use the prompt words)

Winter Camping with Lawrence!

Close the flap of the tent
keep winter out
here take the torch outside
if you need to do number two grab the pail
number one, just the jug

I’ll wait here, strum my zither
sorry, the tuning lever’s broke
and my fingers’ too numb to massage the keys
“In an octopus’s garden in the seaaaa…”
yeah, I prefer the Beatles, I’m not a Stones marionette

Because once I met Keith Richards skiing in Stowe
you know he scours his fingers with pumice?
left the chalet rugs covered in it and all that grit
got in the jam at the breakfast table, and he doesn’t care
how he swings his guitar which is how I got this limp

Could you tend to the campfire while you’re out?
want to make sure it’d startle a bear
or make a wild turkey honk, shake its wattle and scram
as for me I’m fire-phobic, my back was one big bruise
that time after tumbling down a chimney robbing

A librarian, thought he wasn’t a tome
speaking of tumbling, is that a turkey talon rip right there
in the canvas fringe? feeling the draft working up
my arthritis so I’m sure I’ll need my walker when we finally break camp

6 responses to “poem 4/9/10 – Winter Camping with Lawrence!

  1. Very well done, Lawrence. Sorry about your arthritis!

  2. I love what you did here. I didn’t like this prompt either so I went with a nonsense poem, but I think yours is much better.

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

  3. Wow! This is great! Lots of fun to read. I wouldn’t have guessed that you had difficulty with this prompt…but I really suffered through it!

  4. Large Hadron, you bet. You bent those words to your will. I loved the poem. I like the challenge of the prompt, though I fear I pulled a Robert Altman Short Cuts, tie everything up with an earthquake ending.

    http://lanijo.com/poetry/mission-accepted

  5. Way to go, you really showed that prompt who’s boss!

  6. That was very cleverly written. I adore playing the games on twitter, writing haiku with a given word. Maybe I should give this a go?

Leave a Reply

