poem 4/14/10 – mover and shaker

NaPoWriMo 2010 Challenge day 14:  A cleave poem.  After my favorite prompt so far yesterday, I hated this.   I feel the form should really be used for antagonistic “counter poems”, but my mind could not come up with something as powerful as I imagined.   This is actually the poetic equivalent of a visual trick used expertly by Al Jaffee in Mad Magazine – the “fold-in“.

This morning I was at a meeting at the County headquarters, and I glanced out the door and into the office of a man on the phone. He was older, and for some reason the tableau struck me as Edward Hopper-esque.   He looked like he was a man not only comfortable with responsibility and decision making, but he looked like he expected it from life.  I wish I were like that.

+++++mover and shaker

The man in the suit behind his desk
as his telephone rings he coughs
throws out his elbow languidly, sighs
lifts from its cradle ready to address
the receiver to say yes or no
and what he speaks just makes another mark
shapes a city in the world

3 responses to “poem 4/14/10 – mover and shaker

  1. Oh, my gosh! I can’t believe I completely forgot about Mad Magazine’s foldout! I loved those things– what a fun memory, and a great metaphor for a cleave poem, which I have not had the guts tackle yet. As for your poem, I thought it was precise and compact and very disciplined…a pristine example of how a cleave poem should work. The short lines really serve the poem and lend it a lovely echoing quality. I would be tempted to write very long lines in cleave poem, so this is a nice example of how to be compact.

  2. I love how you have used the prompt here.

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

  3. First, really enjoyed your introduction . I, too, had forgotten about the Mad Magazine foldout–great comparison!! Ha ha. But seriously, I think you did a great job on this, and to me, your cleave actually makes a very poignant commentary about many in the business world. Also, wonderful photograph.

Leave a Reply

