poem 4/28/10 – Wait for her name

NaPoWriMo 2010 winding down… ReadWritePoem Day #28: “Let’s prepare to write a poem using our intuition intentionally today. Write this prompt on your page: “…I understand the place I am meant to go with my words and poetry today is … ” And wait 2 hours before you write.

Practiced Buddhism for 27 years, til I dropped it a year ago.  I’ve had my fill of intuition, of looking for meanings whether from my mind or from how the world settles around me.  so, I pushed back against today’s prompt.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Wait for her name

Walk down the street
or stand in line
wait for the sign
no not that one
that other one
yes the way her words fall
yes the way his footfalls
snap on the sidewalk

Wait for her name
the letters come together
the word two voices make
clashing stupid wrapping
snaking making meaning

All symbols signs
everything a breath
nothing is wasted
it’s all so deep
you feel like Rumi
just wait for her name

10 responses to “poem 4/28/10 – Wait for her name

  1. I wonder if Rumi thought he was deep or if he just hung out, being himself, which happened to be deep. I wonder if he ever forgot Shams name or face or what it felt like to be seen so clearly.

    (I appreciate you writing an anti-prompt poem, by the way. I can feel the frustration in your words.)

    • I’m really not familiar with Rumi, but I trust him, as the real deal. Just hoped his reference would be a succinct way to point up possible pretentiousness.

  2. I enjoyed your poem…somehow waiting for her name made me think of “waiting for Godot”…very nicely done.

  3. So who is this sheila and is she connected to that pink square. Incidentally it has very bad vibes.
    I preferred the white one.

  4. WHAT PINK SQUARE?????!!! I DON’T SEE IT!!

  5. Double plate: scattered, smothered, covered and chunked.

    (my hash brown order)

  6. I liked this Lawrence..like most poems Im usually speechless….soo nicely done again….and thanks for sharing and thanks for comments

  7. Novaheart,
    Is there mention of a pink square somewhere here? Nice poem.
    Pamela

  8. Excellent post, Lawrence. I also found this prompt tough, but you expressed this so perfectly. I really enjoyed this post of yours!

    That pink square…well, it’s really…oh, you’ll just have to intuit what it is!

Leave a Reply

