6/13/10 – poem, tomorrow/sailing

Started out as my usual 6-8-6 haiku, but wanted to expand the phrasing.  And I’m not sure what I have been doing is really “haiku” in is conceptual sense.

Neuroscientists have figured out that we have something approaching a half million individual thoughts a day – 8 per second.   These recent poems are, I guess, attempts to  fractally explode and freeze mid-burst, one of those thoughts.

I think about time all the time; overwhelmed with the idea of capturing a moment,  of keeping every hour in a jar like a fat firefly.



++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

across tomorrow’s day
and night and
day again I’ll sail
every one
and tack against
then tack into
to master every hour
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

6 responses to “6/13/10 – poem, tomorrow/sailing

  1. I really like the message in this poem and the very positive tone it has.

  2. This reminds me of “Where the Wild Things Are.” 🙂 But in a good way. 🙂

    I am a bit obsessed with time travel myself. When my son was small he spent endless hours making time machines out of cardboard, complete with elaborate instrumentation panels which he would engage with beeping sound effects. I am still a bit sad that none of them worked…

  3. Short, but sweet and to the point. Great picture too.

  4. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/the-celebrate-poet-of-may-award-nominations/

    welcome voting for awards of May..
    your link is in, u get one automatically,
    when you comment to vote, you get another vote for yourself as well…
    thank you for the attention!
    😉

  5. What a great poem involving perseverance.

Leave a Reply

