7/30/10 – angiogram or candygram?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Had an appointment with my cardiologist’s LN this afternoon, as a follow-up on my stress test and imaging last week, and a prelim to my angiogram.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
My cardiologist in a voice mail and quick phone call just flatly said what could be wrong, what the possible outcomes of the angiogram were – have the test and get released by 2:00, get a stent while they were up in there and stay overnight, be admitted for open heart surgery. She also noted my heart was pumping 1/4 less than it was at my last stress test imaging 2 years ago. And not to exercise or do anything that would get my heart and blood pressure going until we get the results of the angio.

When the hospital called to make arrangements, they also said to bring clothes and belongings in case I’ll be staying.

So… I live alone – and a lot of my life is online – so if there is the possibility (as presented, 1 of 3 options) they’ll keep me in the hospital for days or a week and the recovery at home after, I have to make arrangements for things that a spouse or significant other would know to take care of and they wouldn’t have to think about. For instance, I park on the street, and our street has alternate parking. If I am away, I have to arrange for someone to have a key to my car and move it from one side to the other sometime Wednesday evening to Thursday morning. Little things like that.

And, writing and giving someone I trust implicitly a list of my most important strictly online friends (cyber romantic and otherwise) so she can email and IM them to let them know they won’t be hearing from me for a couple weeks. The last time I admitted myself to the hospital I didn’t get back online, at all, for 3-1/2 weeks – with no warning to anyone.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
But… the LN gets me – we have hilarious appointments, and if she weren’t (apparently) “engaged to be engaged”…

She gave some nuances about my results the cardiologist hadn’t given me. Yes, my heart pumping power dropped by 1/4 in two years, but it was still just 3 percentage points below what is considered the normal range for a nominally healthy man my age. Still not bad for a man with my history.

And the abnormalities with my heart noted by the imaging – there are 5 measures – all 5 registered as “mild”.

Apparently, the decision to have me get an angiogram was not automatic, but she and the cardiologist deliberated a bit about it. And with my history -and my ongoing mysterious fatigue – they wanted to do some more looking before anything did happen.

And, even with stress test and 2 sets of heart imaging, and all the points of measure… the likelihood of a false positive is still 15%!

So now I think I should get back to my usual worrying about getting hit by a bus on the way to the hospital… And plan to stop at the brand new Tim Horton’s in the lobby to grab my first coffee of the day after I get discharged Monday afternoon.

Thank you everyone for your concern and encouragement!!
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

5 responses to “7/30/10 – angiogram or candygram?

  1. Please take care my friend and let me know if there is something I can do …well other than move your car which would be difficult unless you have one of those long distance remote control things. 😉

  2. Aawww maannn… All the very best with the procedures…
    Hope you’ve managed it all by now (the handing over the key, the list, etc)… these tasks may be small, but very important 🙂
    I hope you are back by Monday(08/02/2010)!! Looking forward to seeing a post from you Monday evening 🙂 Take good care of yourself, Lawrence.. I am pretty damn sure all will go well !! 😀
    (many hugs to you for a quiiiicckkk recovery)

  3. Dear Lawrence, wishing you all good things and hoping for a speedy recovery.

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

  4. My dear friend, if I lived closer, I would do all of those things to help. Know that you’re in my thoughts and all the best with the procedures. I hope to see you back here soon again. Sending you love and hugs x

  5. Thanks, al of you.

    The gist of the visit to the LN was that thing are probably *not* going to end up as drastic as I thought, from the way the cardiologist and hospital talked to me. But still, such statistical anomalies *have* happened to me before…

Leave a Reply

