8/12/10 – poem, found haiku

Thanks for your support – the angioplasty went well and the stent is in place. Was weird, they threaded it through my right wrist instead of my groin, weird to think the wire was snaked up my arm and in through my shoulder, but of course I couldn’t feel anything. It took a couple hours, but on the morphine and whatever else, it seemed like 20 minutes.  Stayed in the hospital overnight, as is normal. I think I’m fine, but lying down and padding around the house is easy – I know, from my experience rushing back to normal life too early last week, that I am not as functional as I think I am.

So today, another “found haiku” from the writings of Nichiren, in a letter to a grieving mother.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ah, if he were to come back
with the evanescent flowers and grasses
we would wait by the blossoms
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

6 responses to “8/12/10 – poem, found haiku

  1. So glad things went well and that you’re feeling okay…take care of yourself…and thanks for this fine haiku.

  2. Awwww… this was sad and very sweet… Painful too…

    Very glad to see you back in the blogging world! Hope you are fit and fine (well…almost! )
    Take care… keep writing/posting 🙂

  3. I am also so very happy that all is behind you (amazing what they do these days…through the arm??) I hope that you will take it easy for the next week or so…we will wait by the blossoms to read your wonderful work. I send my best wishes to you, always x

  4. I’m happy it went well, Lawrence, be kind to yourself and take it easy.

  5. So glad you are okay. Love the haiku.

  6. Pingback: Following DEATH « Flutter and Muse

Leave a Reply

